EIA:Rules for Phase I and II scenarios
- 1 Special rules
- 2 Province and minor special rules
Austrian, Prussian, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, British and French (and their controlled and sponsored minors) corps have a –2 penalty to all forage rolls. This is cancelled as indicated by French revolutionary track (except for French Emigree’s who are never free from this rule). This rule does not affect potential Ottoman corps in Ottoman territory.
Once during the game, when France and Britain are at war, France may trigger an Irish rebellion. Irish rebels consist of a single corps of 8 infantry at morale 2. Ireland also gains guerrilla value 4 and Irish rebels receive 1 infantry as reinforcements each turn (2 infantry, if Dublin is controlled by enemies of Britain). The corps counter may be purchased by France every economic phase, if it is off the board (but maintenance need not be payed).
If Irish rebels (and other enemies of Britain) manage to gain unbesieged control all cities in Ireland for a whole month, rebellion succeeds. Ireland becomes a neutral minor country and it’s values are halved if it is conquered. Remaining Irish forces are taken off the board and are used if Ireland is attacked.
If at any point there are no Irish units on the board (including guerrillas), Irish rebellion fails and Ireland loses it’s guerrilla value for the rest of the game.
Peace of Amiens
After French revolution track reaches 48, both Britain and France make informal peace with all nations. Neither may DOW any major power for 12 months.
Pitt the younger elected PM
As the peace of Amiens begins, Britain loses following troops:
- All militia
- All infantry
- Half guards (round down)
- Half cavalry (round down)
- British freestates and KGL are not affected.
The Hundred Days
- If Napoleon returns from exile, French manpower is doubled for the next economic phase.
King's German Legion
If Britain loses control of Hanover, all Hanoverian garrisons are eliminated, the Hanoverian corps becomes King's German Legion (KGL). Upkeep of KGL is paid by Britain. KGL recieves 2MP every December and no other reinforcements. Britain must pay for any troops that are purchased. KGL cannot change factors with other British corps, but may drop garrisons. Any troops of the KGL that are used as garrison become British infantry and may not return to KGL corps.
If confederation of the Rhein is in existence, KGL recieves no reinforcements.
La Salle's Light Cavalry
La Salle’s Light Cavalry (LSLC): LSLC is a French unit and is treated as Cossack for all purposes, except as noted below.
- LSLC may not be rebuilt.
- If La Salle dies, LSLC is eliminated.
- LSLC has morale level of 5.
- When LSLC attacks alone, opponent may not retreat.
When La Salle is available, France must exchange one cavalry factor for LSLC. If no cavalry is available, LSLC remains off board until one is available.
The exiled princes and nobles of France created a small army based in Germany to fight the Revolution. This army known as the “Army of the Princes” fought in many of the battles of the Revolutionary War until it was annihilated at the Battle of Hohenlinden in 1800. This rule allows the player to show their real, if albeit minor, contribution to the war against the Revolution.
Control of the French Émigrés
The French Émigrés are controlled by any Major Power at war with Republican France, in the following order of precedence: Austria, Britain, Spain, Russia, Prussia and Turkey. If no Major Powers are at war with France, Austria takes control. French Émigré army factors will only fight Republic France and with any of Republican France’s Allies, if in a combined force.
Using the French Émigrés
The Major Power controlling the French Émigrés receives the normal taxation and manpower values of French provinces not under the control of Republican France during the Money and Manpower Collection Step. The taxation money is used to purchase French Émigré army factors given the available manpower points. The controlling Major Power also receives all exiled French Royalist leaders, who may command only Emigree troops.
Émigré forces are held off map until Stage 11 of the French Revolutionary Track has been reached. At this point, they are placed on the map, anywhere in France except for Paris. AT this time, Emigrees get as many corps counters as they want for free. Afterwards, Emigree units receive reinforcements to anycorps or controlled city in France or in any area controlled by the major power controlling the émigrés.
When the French émigrés army is first formed, it receives a special one time reinforcement of four Infantry factors and one Cavalry factor. And one corps counter. Emigres have 6 corps counters with capacity of 10I and 2C each.
French Émigré factors are never taken prisoner by Republican France’s forces (they are eliminated).
Should Royalist France be restored, French Émigré factors become the Royalist France army.
If Ludvig XVI is alive, there are additional benefits for controlling the Émigrés. The power in control of Emigree’s may demand return of Bourbouns to the throne. This can be done as part of unconditional surrender (costing one peace condition pick).
If Bourbons are returned to power, French revolution track goes down to 0. The revolution track tickets are altered so that the amount of previously drew "winning" tickets are returned to the pool but the "losing" tickets are not.
As a Phase I campaign starts, both Russia and Turkey secretly determine if they wish to fight. If neither wants to fight, they come to an informal peace. If both want to fight, they start at war and cannot come to an informal peace (for this war only). If only one wants to fight, the other must immediately conditionally surrender.
As a Phase II campaign starts, the very same Russo-Turkish war is raging. Again, no informal peace is allowed.
Province and minor special rules
Phase I Poland
Poland begins the game as a Russian protectorate. All territory marked with (P) are part of Poland. Russia has access through Poland and receives 10$ on each economic phase from Poland, but no manpower. Russia may not declare war on Poland.
If any other nation declares war on Poland, it is considered a DoW on Russia. (costing 3PP) Russia may still be DOWed separately.
If Russia and Poland go to war together, Polish forces are available and all Polish money and manpower is used to raise Polish units (Russia does not receive 10$ from Poland).
Poland revolts according the Revolution track. When this happens Poland becomes an independent minor country consisting of all territory marked with (P). All Russian depots in Poland are destroyed and Russian access is revoked. Forcible access cannot be used against Poland. Any attempt at forcible access is considered a DOW on Poland.
Declaring war on independent Poland
A DOW on Poland costs 3 PP, regardless of Polands current size. Roll for control as for any other major power (Britain +1, Russia & Turkey –1). Gaining control of Poland is worth 3PP.
Poland sues for peace when all cities in two provincies are held by the attacker(s). Attacker may decline the offer to conquer more territory. Attacker gains 3PP when Poland surrenders and chooses one territory. Poland cedes that territory. If attacker controls Warsaw, two provinces maybe chosen instead. In no case can such provinces be demanded from Poland that the remaining Polish provinces would be disconnected from each other.
If Poland surrenders, controller loses 3PP.
Polish victory happens if there are no enemy forces in any (P) marked area controlled by Poland (of the attacking country) at end of any turn. This results in a lapse of war and Polands controller gains 2PP. Poland then reverts to neutrality and regains one (P) marked province from the attacker.
Poland may be at war with several major powers and in such case can surrender several times.Poland surrenders first to the nation controlling Warsaw, then to the nation that went to war first. Resolve ties randomly.
When war with Poland is over (win or lose) there are 12 months of enforced peace.
Polish provinces become home provinces of the power conquering them first, if allowed as follows:
- Posen: Prussia
- Masovia: Prussia
- West Galicia: Prussia, Austria
- East Galicia: Austria
- Lithuania: Russia
- Polesia: Russia
- Podolia: Russia, Turkey
If West Galicia or Podolia is continually and uncontestedly occupied by one of the two
When Poland reverts to neutrality (by lapse of war or by surrender) all Polish units are reset. During wartime, they receive reinforcements as normal. When at war, last Polish economic phase is created and reinforcements bought. Poland cannot buy militia.
- 4 Infantry corps
- 3 cavalry corps
- All units have morale of 3.
- Total Polish forces are 40I, 16C. This is subject to the Phase I 25% reduction.
|Corps composition||PHASE I||PHASE II||PHASE III||PHASE IV|
|Poland (Infantry)||12I||15I 1C||16I 2C||20I 5C|
All Polish areas controlled by Poland have guerrilla value of 3.
If Poland ceases to exist, all standard rules of Poland are used instead.
Sweden includes these provinces:
Armed neutrality alliance
Consists of Portugal, Sweden, Denmark, Holland and Russia
Any DOW on any member nation except a major power is considered a DOW on all member nations and must be payed for separately (very expensive). Russia gains an additional +2 (for war) to gain control if this happens.
- French free DOW on Holland / Dutch Republic does not count as a DOW on all members.
- If Sweden is a major power, Sweden's DoW on Denmark does not count as a DOW on all members.
- Britain (only) may attack any choose to attack the alliance's fleets without a DOW. Britain may announce his will to attack the alliance at the end of any Declarations of War -step.
- If Britain announces an attack on the coalition, the alliance troops and fleets are temporarily deployed to the map for three months. Control of the minor countries belonging to the alliance is determined between major country members of the alliance that currently have a fleet on the Atlantic. Each fleet on the Atlantic beyond the first gives a +1 to the control determining roll.
- Great Britain can extend the attack after each three month period in the following Declarations of War -step. If Britain doesn't extend the attack, the minor country forces are removed from the map in the Reinforcement -phase.
- As long as the attack is going on, Great Britain may attack and port raid any fleets belonging to the alliance.
- Fleets in the Mediterranean or Black Sea cannot be attacked by Great Britain.
In 1805 January, the alliance is dissolved, all rules above are null and void. Alliance is also (temporarily) cancelled if all participant nations are controlled by a major power.
Holy Roman Empire
Consists of Baden, Bavaria, Wurttenburg, Hesse, Prussia and Austria.
Other nations except France cannot declare war on Baden, Bavaria, Wurttenburg or Hesse without also doing so on all other members. If a nation declares war on HRE regardless, the war must end in unconditional surrender.
If France conquerers a minor that is part of HRE, the minor leaves HRE permanently.
The Holy Roman Empire is disbanded if France, Austria or Prussia becomes dominant, but not before 1800.
Kingdom of Sardinia
Sardinia consists of Sardinia and Piedmont. There is no main district and all parts must be conquered separately. A DoW on Kingdom of Sardinia is also considered a DoW on Britain. A DoW on Sardinia by Britain costs 2 additional PP.
- Phase I; 9I, 1C
- Phase II: 12I, 1C
Pestilence of Helvetia
Switzerland is worth 0/0 until 1796.
Pope is important
- The very first DOW on Papacy costs 2 additional PP.
- except for Republican/Imperial France
- All nations, except Turkey, have a free DOW on the aggressor
- Again, Republican/Imperial France is not included
- Venetia includes Corfu.
- City of Venetia cannot be besieged, unless it is also blockaded
- This rule is canceled if Venetia is conquered
- Venice forces start at:
- Phase I: 8I, 1C, 10S.
- Phase II: 10I, 1C, 15S
Amsterdam has two fletches, except in winter months. Siege battle in Amsterdam is always worth 1PP, regardless of the current months.(Cancel if Amsterdam is conquered)